Winnipeg - Urology
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Urology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35937
Summary
- The University of Manitoba Urology program is a five-year residency based at the Health Sciences Centre, Children's Hospital and St. Boniface General Hospital in Winnipeg.
- The first two years are Surgical Foundations training, followed by three years in Urology, including three blocks of pediatric urology in PGY3.
- Residents are expected to take part in clinical research and present annually at a Urology Residents Research Day.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre - Adult
- Health Sciences Centre - Children's Hospital
- St. Boniface Hospital - Adult
Show all 5Show fewer
- Men's Health Clinic Manitoba - Adult
- Victoria Hospital - Adult
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
- Highlights
- The curriculum is designed to meet American Board of Urology requirements as well as Royal College requirements.
- The catchment area includes Manitoba, Northwestern Ontario and Nunavut, with a population of over 1.5 million.
By year
- PGY-1
- Urology7 Blocks
- Acute General Surgery2 Blocks
- Trauma Surgery1 Block
- Pediatric Surgery1 Block
- Elective (off-service)1 Blocks
- PGY-2
- Urology7 Blocks
- General Surgery2 Blocks
- Intensive Care Unit2 Blocks
- Vascular Surgery1 Block
- PGY-3
- Urology9 Block
- Pediatric Urology3 Block
- PGY-4
- Urology10 Block
- Community / Elective2 Block
- PGY-5
- Urology12 Blocks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 30 and 31 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre - Adult (Winnipeg)
- Health Sciences Centre - Children's Hospital (Winnipeg)
- St. Boniface Hospital - Adult (Winnipeg)
- Men's Health Clinic Manitoba - Adult
- Victoria Hospital - Adult
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jasmir Nayak
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.3 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 126.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 51.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 749,607 people
- Official languages
- English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7%
- Immigrants
- 27.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $80,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.146
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,813 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage