Enhanced skills outside the CaRMS match
Family medicine training that schools fill themselves, not through CaRMS’s FM/ES match: Category 2 programs (school-set objectives, no CFPC Certificate of Added Competence), clinician scholar programs, Quebec’s programmes de compétences avancées, and seats for practising family physicians. 82 offerings at 17 of 18 departments, from each school’s own pages, checked 10 Oct 2026. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.
Not part of the CaRMS match
- You apply to the school, on its own dates. Most 2027–28 deadlines were in September 2026; Quebec’s run later, to December and February.
- Offers can come before CaRMS’s rank-list deadline. At Western (opens in a new tab), accepting a Category 2 offer before the rank-list deadline means withdrawing from the CaRMS match.
- Funding differs by school and by applicant: provincially funded PGY-3 seats, re-entry funding for practising physicians, return of service, or self-funding. Each row gives what the school or province says.
| Program | Length | Positions | Who can apply | Funding and obligations | Applications, 2027–28 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Addiction Medicine (Category 2)University of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 12 weeks | 4 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Gender and Sexual HealthUniversity of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 8-12 weeks | 1-2 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | R3 level for up to 3 months | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Global HealthUniversity of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 26 weeks | 1-2 | Licensed physicians (UBC page); UBC Global Health site: open to physicians graduating from a UBC residency or practising physicians | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| H2SUM (HIV, Viral Hepatitis, Substance Use Disorder and Mental Health)University of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 12 weeks | 1-2 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Hospital MedicineUniversity of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 26 weeks (shorter periods may be available) | 2 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Indigenous HealthUniversity of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 12 weeks | 1-2 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Obstetrics (low-risk)University of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 12 weeks | 4 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Palliative Medicine (Category 2)University of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 12 weeks (up to 3 months) | 4 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Pediatric MedicineUniversity of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | 12 weeks | 2 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Self-Designed TrainingUniversity of British Columbia · BCCategory 2 | Flexible; usually 8-12 weeks | 1-2 | CCFP-certified or CCFP-eligible (final-year FM resident or practice-eligible); priority to licensed BC physicians practising >=6 months; out-of-province second priority; no Visa trainees | Paid at PGY3/R3 level under the Resident Doctors of BC Collective Agreement; 12+ week trainees get some educational funding; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Clinician Scholar ProgramUniversity of British Columbia · BCCategory 1, not in CaRMS | 2 years at 50% part-time, or until competencies met | 2 | Residents/physicians who can find a Family Practice faculty research mentor; mentorship agreement required; page invites practising family physicians | Not stated on the school’s page | Date unclear on the school’s page |
| Family Medicine Obstetrics (FMOB) Enhanced SkillsUniversity of Alberta · ABCategory 2 | 12-16 weeks (3 months + optional 4th block) | 4 | PGY2 residents of Canadian FM programs; must hold CCFP by program start; BLS | Not stated on the school’s page | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Addiction Medicine (Category 2)University of Alberta · ABCategory 2 | 4 blocks (16 weeks), consecutive, full-time | 1 | CCFP exam completed/CCFP certification before start; Canadian citizenship document mandatory | Resident Pay Level 3 per PARA collective agreement; no dollar figures | Closed 30 Mar 2026 |
| Chronic PainUniversity of Calgary · ABCategory 2 | 13 blocks (one year) | 1 | Graduating PGY-2 FM residents and Re-entry applicants (family physicians in practice more than six months) for PGY-3 positions | Not stated on the school’s page | Open to 11 Oct 2026 |
| Health Equity: Local and Global CareUniversity of Calgary · ABCategory 2 | 6 blocks | 1 | Graduating PGY-2 FM residents and Re-entry applicants (family physicians in practice more than six months) for PGY-3 positions | Not stated on the school’s page | Open to 11 Oct 2026 |
| Maternal and Newborn CareUniversity of Calgary · ABCategory 2 | 6 blocks (3 in rural locations) | 3 | Graduating PGY-2 FM residents and Re-entry applicants (family physicians in practice more than six months) for PGY-3 positions | Not stated on the school’s page | Open to 11 Oct 2026 |
| Sexual and Reproductive HealthUniversity of Calgary · ABCategory 2 | 13 blocks (one year) | 1 | Graduating PGY-2 FM residents and Re-entry applicants (family physicians in practice more than six months) for PGY-3 positions | Not stated on the school’s page | Open to 11 Oct 2026 |
| Rural and Regional Physician Enhancement TrainingUniversity of Saskatchewan · SKProvincial program | A third year of training; physicians’ funding prorated to program length | 2 practising physicians + 2 residents a year | Practising rural or regional physicians, and second-year FM residents | Physicians: income replacement up to $110,000 a year, prorated; residents: Pay Level C stipend; return of service required | No dates published |
| Cancer Care Enhanced Skills ResidencyUniversity of Manitoba · MBCategory 2 | 6 or 12 months | Not stated on the school’s page | Completed 2-year FM residency or CCFP designation (policy: 'one or both'); Certificate of Professional Standing from CPSM or home-province regulator | Specially-funded non-CaRMS residency positions; Manitoba Health funds re-entry positions (social-accountability based); no dollar figures | Date unclear on the school’s page |
| PGY3 FM Self-Directed Enhanced SkillsNOSM University · ONSelf-directed enhanced skills | 3-12 months (learner-designed) | 2 (12-month PGY3 positions in the stream) | PGY2 residents in a Canadian FM program (start PGY3 within 12 months), or physicians practising in Canada >=12 consecutive months who meet MOHLTC funding eligibility | Ministry of Health (MOHLTC) funding eligibility applies; practising physicians must meet MOHLTC funding requirements; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Hospital Medicine (self-directed pathway, Sault Area Hospital)NOSM University · ONSelf-directed enhanced skills | 6 months | Not separately stated (within the stream's two positions?) (unclear on the school’s page) | PGY2 residents in a Canadian FM program (start PGY3 within 12 months), or physicians practising in Canada >=12 consecutive months who meet MOHLTC funding eligibility | Ministry of Health (MOHLTC) funding eligibility applies; practising physicians must meet MOHLTC funding requirements; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Chronic Pain Management (self-directed pathway, Thunder Bay)NOSM University · ONSelf-directed enhanced skills | 3-6 months | 1 | PGY2 residents in a Canadian FM program (start PGY3 within 12 months), or physicians practising in Canada >=12 consecutive months who meet MOHLTC funding eligibility | Ministry of Health (MOHLTC) funding eligibility applies; practising physicians must meet MOHLTC funding requirements; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Academic Family MedicineWestern University · ONCategory 2 | 1 year | varies | Canadian citizen/PR; resident enrolled in CFPC-accredited Canadian FM residency (start of PGY2 on or before Dec 31 of application year); US ACGME FM PGY2 also eligible | Ministry of Health (MOH) funded PGY3 positions; all positions subject to funding availability; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Chronic Disease ManagementWestern University · ONCategory 2 | 1 year | varies | Canadian citizen/PR; resident enrolled in CFPC-accredited Canadian FM residency (start of PGY2 on or before Dec 31 of application year); US ACGME FM PGY2 also eligible | Ministry of Health (MOH) funded PGY3 positions; all positions subject to funding availability; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Hospitalist, WindsorWestern University · ONCategory 2 | 6 blocks | varies | Canadian citizen/PR; resident enrolled in CFPC-accredited Canadian FM residency (start of PGY2 on or before Dec 31 of application year); US ACGME FM PGY2 also eligible | Ministry of Health (MOH) funded PGY3 positions; all positions subject to funding availability; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Individualized ProgramWestern University · ONCategory 2 | 6-12 months (page: 6 blocks - 1 year) | varies | Canadian citizen/PR; resident enrolled in CFPC-accredited Canadian FM residency (start of PGY2 on or before Dec 31 of application year); US ACGME FM PGY2 also eligible | Ministry of Health (MOH) funded PGY3 positions; all positions subject to funding availability; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Obstetrics & Women's HealthWestern University · ONCategory 2 | 6 blocks | varies | Canadian citizen/PR; resident enrolled in CFPC-accredited Canadian FM residency (start of PGY2 on or before Dec 31 of application year); US ACGME FM PGY2 also eligible | Ministry of Health (MOH) funded PGY3 positions; all positions subject to funding availability; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Primary Care RheumatologyWestern University · ONCategory 2 | 1 year | 1 | Canadian citizen/PR; resident enrolled in CFPC-accredited Canadian FM residency (start of PGY2 on or before Dec 31 of application year); US ACGME FM PGY2 also eligible | Ministry of Health (MOH) funded PGY3 positions; all positions subject to funding availability; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Family Medicine OncologyWestern University · ONCategory 2 | 1 year | varies | Canadian citizen/PR; resident enrolled in CFPC-accredited Canadian FM residency (start of PGY2 on or before Dec 31 of application year); US ACGME FM PGY2 also eligible | Ministry of Health (MOH) funded PGY3 positions; all positions subject to funding availability; no dollar figures | Closed 7 Sep 2026 |
| Rural/Regional Self-DesignedMcMaster University · ONCategory 2 | 3-6 months (landing table) vs '3-6 blocks' (program page; sample schedules show 3 or 6 blocks) (unclear on the school’s page) | 6 to 8 (landing table) vs 'not defined' (program page) (unclear on the school’s page) | All FM PGY2 learners training in Canada; must start PGY3 within 12 months of PGY2 completion | Ontario Ministry of Health funding for residents/physicians practising or completing residency in Canada; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Research & ScholarshipMcMaster University · ONCategory 2 | Up to 12 months, part-time (minimum 60%) or full-time | 1 (one 12-month position) | All FM PGY2 learners training in Canada; must start PGY3 within 12 months of PGY2 completion | Ontario Ministry of Health funding for residents/physicians practising or completing residency in Canada; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Family Medicine ObstetricsMcMaster University · ONCategory 2 | 6 months | 2 (six-month positions) | All FM PGY2 learners training in Canada; must start PGY3 within 12 months of PGY2 completion | Ontario Ministry of Health funding for residents/physicians practising or completing residency in Canada; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Adolescent MedicineUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 6 months | 1 | Canadian citizen; PGY2 or Canadian family physician with MOH re-entry funding | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Breast DiseasesUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 6 months | 1-2 | Canadian citizen and current PGY2 (no re-entry mentioned on program page) | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Education ScholarUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 1 year | 1-2 | Ministry-funded: PGY2 enrolled in Canadian FM residency at time of application; start PGY3 within 12 months of PGY2; re-entry physicians apply via MOH Re-Entry | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Global Health and Vulnerable PopulationsUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 1 year | 2 | Ministry-funded: PGY2 enrolled in Canadian FM residency at time of application; start PGY3 within 12 months of PGY2; re-entry physicians apply via MOH Re-Entry | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| HIV Care (OHTN HIV Residency in Primary Care)University of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 6 months | 2-3 | Canadian citizen; PGY2 or Canadian family physician with MOH re-entry funding | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Hospital MedicineUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 1 year | 4 | PGY2 or Canadian family physician with MOH re-entry funding | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Intellectual and Developmental DisabilitiesUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 6 months | 2 | Current PGY2 (no re-entry mentioned on program page) | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Open to 30 Oct 2026 (extended) |
| 2SLGBTQ HealthUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 6 months | 1-2 | Canadian citizen; PGY2 or Canadian family physician with MOH re-entry funding | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Low-Risk ObstetricsUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 3 months | 16 | Ministry-funded: PGY2 enrolled in Canadian FM residency at time of application; start PGY3 within 12 months of PGY2; re-entry physicians apply via MOH Re-Entry | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Primary Care Mental HealthUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 6 months | 1 | Ministry-funded: PGY2 enrolled in Canadian FM residency at time of application; start PGY3 within 12 months of PGY2; re-entry physicians apply via MOH Re-Entry | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Open to 30 Oct 2026 (extended) |
| Women's HealthUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 2 | 1 year | 2 | Canadian citizen; PGY2 or Canadian family physician with MOH re-entry funding | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Clinician ScholarUniversity of Toronto · ONCategory 1, not in CaRMS | 1 year (page: one to two years full-time depending on option selected) | 1 | Canadian citizen; see main page for funding eligibility | Ministry of Health (PGY2 funding); Ministry of Health Re-Entry Program for practising physicians; no dollar figures | Open to 30 Oct 2026 (extended) |
| FM/ES programs through Ontario’s physician re-entry programToronto Metropolitan University · ONPractising physicians | 1 year full time | Not stated on the school’s page | Re-entry route: family physicians in full-time practice in Canada >= 12 consecutive months, apply to the Ontario Ministry, not through CaRMS. CaRMS route is for current FM residents completing PGY2 by 31 Dec 2027. | Ministry re-entry program with 2-year full-time return of service in Ontario; each Ontario medical school decides whether funding exists for a re-entry position | No single close date stated |
| Rural SkillsQueen's University · ONCategory 2 | minimum 3 blocks, maximum 6 blocks | Depends on availability of positions; number not stated | Currently enrolled PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency, or practising physician in Canada meeting Ministry funding eligibility (re-entry) | Queen's ES programs share 16 provincially funded positions (Ministry); per-program split not stated; no dollar amount | Closed 30 Sep 2026 |
| Women's HealthQueen's University · ONCategory 2 | Not stated on the school’s page | Not stated on the school’s page | Currently enrolled PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency, or practising physician in Canada meeting Ministry funding eligibility (re-entry) | Queen's ES programs share 16 provincially funded positions (Ministry); per-program split not stated; no dollar amount | Closed 30 Sep 2026 |
| Indigenous HealthQueen's University · ONCategory 2 | Not stated on the school’s page | Not stated on the school’s page | Currently enrolled PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency, or practising physician in Canada meeting Ministry funding eligibility (re-entry) | Queen's ES programs share 16 provincially funded positions (Ministry); per-program split not stated; no dollar amount | Closed 30 Sep 2026 |
| Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IDD)Queen's University · ONCategory 2 | 6 to 12 months (flexible) | Not stated on the school’s page | Currently enrolled PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency, or practising physician in Canada meeting Ministry funding eligibility (re-entry) | Queen's ES programs share 16 provincially funded positions (Ministry); per-program split not stated; no dollar amount | Closed 30 Sep 2026 |
| Category 1 programs (Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care): practising-physician / re-entry routeQueen's University · ONPractising physicians | COE: 12 months at Queen's per ES page; separate Dept of Medicine page mentions 6- or 12-month COE (unclear on the school’s page) | COE: one resident per academic year (occasionally more) | Practising physicians in Canada meeting Ministry funding eligibility (Ontario re-entry); certified family physicians already in practice and international applicants welcome (COE) | Queen's ES programs share 16 provincially funded positions (Ministry); per-program split not stated; no dollar amount | No dates published |
| Clinician ScholarUniversity of Ottawa · ONCategory 1, not in CaRMS | 12 months full-time or 24 months part-time | 1-2 | Residents (PGY2) and re-entry candidates | Full-time: PGY3 stipend equivalent (70% research / 30% clinical); part-time: 50% of PGY3 stipend; re-entry candidates apply for similar payment via the Ontario Ministry | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Enhanced Maternity SkillsUniversity of Ottawa · ONCategory 2 | 6 months per table; page says four to six months | 2-3 | Current PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency at the application deadline; start PGY3 within 12 months; may only apply once. Re-entry candidates apply to the Ministry | Funding column lists 'PGY3' (Ministry-funded PGY3 stipend level); ministry funding allocated by July-June training year; no dollar amounts | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| FP-Oncology (Family Practice Oncology)University of Ottawa · ONCategory 2 | 6 months | 1-2 | Current PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency at the application deadline; start PGY3 within 12 months; may only apply once. Re-entry candidates apply to the Ministry | Funding column lists 'PGY3' (Ministry-funded PGY3 stipend level); ministry funding allocated by July-June training year; no dollar amounts | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Global Health (Enhanced Skills in Global Health PGY3)University of Ottawa · ONCategory 2 | 12 months | 1 | Current PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency at the application deadline; start PGY3 within 12 months; may only apply once. Re-entry candidates apply to the Ministry | Ministry-funded PGY3 salary; many elements may cost the trainee extra (tuition, travel); Department Global Health Travel Bursary mentioned, no amount | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Hospitalist Program (PGY3 Hospital Generalist; Montfort stream)University of Ottawa · ONCategory 2 | 12 months, or 6 months (Montfort Stream) | 1 | Current PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency at the application deadline; start PGY3 within 12 months; may only apply once. Re-entry candidates apply to the Ministry | Funding column lists 'PGY3' (Ministry-funded PGY3 stipend level); ministry funding allocated by July-June training year; no dollar amounts | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Women’s HealthUniversity of Ottawa · ONCategory 2 | 12 months full-time | 1 | Current PGY2 in a Canadian FM residency at the application deadline; start PGY3 within 12 months; may only apply once. Re-entry candidates apply to the Ministry | Funding column lists 'PGY3' (Ministry-funded PGY3 stipend level); ministry funding allocated by July-June training year; no dollar amounts | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS) Enhanced Skills ProgramUniversity of Ottawa · ONCategory not stated | 6 months | 1 | Part-time and re-entry applicants welcome; preference to family physicians with an outpatient practice and a current faculty appointment | Re-entry applicants apply for Ministry re-entry funding; without Ministry funding, may participate by paying a tuition fee (amount not stated) | No dates published |
| Palliative Medicine - re-entry positions (Category 1 program, non-CaRMS entry)University of Ottawa · ONPractising physicians | 12 months (13 blocks) | 3-4 total in table ('varies' funding); number of re-entry positions unknown until after interviews (unclear on the school’s page) | Re-entry candidates (practising physicians) with FM residency and Ontario educational or independent practice licence; direct entry from PGY2 must use CaRMS | Program 'may have funding' for re-entry positions; no return-of-service requirement for these positions; no dollar amount | No single close date stated |
| Care of the Elderly - re-entry candidates (Category 1 program, non-CaRMS entry)University of Ottawa · ONPractising physicians | 12 months | 1-2 (table) | Certified in Family Medicine, in final year of residency or already in practice | Not stated on the school’s page | No dates published |
| Emergency Medicine - outside-funded candidatesUniversity of Ottawa · ONPractising physicians | 12 months | 4 PGY3 positions (CaRMS) | FM residents via CaRMS; also practising family physicians and other candidates with outside funding | Outside (candidate-brought) funding; source and amounts not stated (unclear on the school’s page) | No dates published |
| Mother and Child Health (Mother and Child Enhanced Skills Program)McGill University · QCDirect admission | 6 months | Not stated on the school’s page | FM residents currently training in Québec (optional third year); Retour de pratique profile exists for Québec-licensed physicians with 12 months of practice (contingent particulier) | Not stated on the school’s page | Open to 11 Dec 2026 |
| Clinician Scholar Program (CSP-A academic track; CSP-R research track)McGill University · QCClinician scholar | CSP-A: 1 year; CSP-R: 2 years (third and fourth year of residency) | Not stated on the school’s page | FM residents currently training in Québec (optional third year); Retour de pratique profile exists for Québec-licensed physicians with 12 months of practice (contingent particulier) | CSP-A provides a third-year residency training salary; MSc in Family Medicine optional | Closed 8 Sep 2026 |
| Hospital Medicine (Family Medicine Enhanced Skills Program)McGill University · QCCategory 2 | 1 year | Two (per 2013-era PDF) | FM residents currently training in Québec (optional third year); Retour de pratique profile exists for Québec-licensed physicians with 12 months of practice (contingent particulier) | Not stated on the school’s page | Closed 22 Sep 2026 |
| Programme de compétences avancées en périnatalité (programme court de 3 mois)Advanced competencies in perinatal care, 3 monthsUniversité de Montréal · QCCompétences avancées | 3 months | Not stated on the school’s page | Residents finishing the 2-year program or practising physicians | Not stated on the school’s page | Open to 11 Dec 2026 |
| Programme de compétences avancées en soins aux personnes âgées (trois mois)Care of the elderly, 3 monthsUniversité de Montréal · QCDES de compétence additionnelle | 3 months | Not stated on the school’s page | Residents finishing the 2-year program or practising physicians | Not stated on the school’s page | Date unclear on the school’s page |
| Soins palliatifs - programme de 3 mois (formation supplémentaire)Palliative care, 3 monthsUniversité de Montréal · QCFormation complémentaire | 3 months | Not stated on the school’s page | residents finishing and recently graduated practising physicians | Not stated on the school’s page | No dates published |
| Programme du Clinicien érudit (PCE) - Profil académique (programme d’un an)Université de Montréal · QCDES de compétence additionnelle | 1 year, can start in R2 | Not stated on the school’s page | FM residents | Not stated on the school’s page | Open to 2 Nov 2026 |
| Programme du Clinicien érudit (PCE) - Profil recherche (programme de deux ans)Université de Montréal · QCDES de compétence additionnelle | 2 years | Not stated on the school’s page | residents; research master’s mandatory | FRQ/MSSS research-training program for FM residents exists (60 000 $ à 85 000 $ for later phases; phase 1 paid by MSSS at resident rate); not stated on the UdeM page | Open to 2 Nov 2026 |
| Périnatalité (3 mois)Perinatal care, 3 monthsUniversité Laval · QCCompétences avancées | 3 months | capacity varies | completed FM residency, CMQ licence, CFPC good standing | RAMQ-paid residents; 700 $/yr institutional fees pro-rated; letter from future practice site (PREM) required | Open to 11 Dec 2026 |
| Douleur chronique (3 mois)Chronic pain, 3 monthsUniversité Laval · QCCompétences avancées | 3 mois (2 mois en clinique de douleur + 1 mois optionnel) | 1-2 per year | Terminé la résidence en médecine de famille; permis CMQ; maîtrise du français | Frais institutionnels 700 $ par année au prorata pour résidents rémunérés RAMQ | Open to 11 Dec 2026 |
| Clinicien érudit (12 mois) et Clinicien érudit - profil recherche (2 ans)Université Laval · QCCompétences avancées | 12 mois (3 mois + 9 mois); profil recherche: 2 ans | Not stated on the school’s page | Être en voie de terminer ou avoir terminé un programme d’études supérieures en médecine de famille | Résidents rémunérés RAMQ; frais 700 $/an; candidats internationaux: financement propre 40 000 $ CAD/an | No single close date stated |
| Transition à la pratique en médecine de famille (nouveau)Université Laval · QCCompétences avancées | 12 months | 4 positions in 2027 | Laval FM graduates only | R3 salary per FMRQ collective agreement | Closed 1 Oct 2026 |
| Clinicien érudit (volet éducateur ou chercheur, 1 an; clinicien-chercheur R3-4, 2 ans)Université de Sherbrooke · QCHors CaRMS | 1 an (éducateur ou chercheur) ou 2 ans (R3-4 clinicien-chercheur) | 3 positions | R2 or certified FP; includes practising physicians | Clinicien-chercheur: exonération des frais de scolarité pour la maîtrise recherche; résident R3 (FMRQ) | No dates published |
| Périnatalité (3 mois)Université de Sherbrooke · QCHors CaRMS | 3 mois | Not stated on the school’s page | Inscrit R2 en médecine de famille OU deux ans de résidence complétés et certifié CMFC; maîtrise du français | Salaire et avantages sociaux de la FMRQ (R3) per the comparative table; lettre du DSP du milieu de pratique requise | Open to 11 Dec 2026 |
| Médecine d’urgence à visée régionale (4 à 6 mois)Université de Sherbrooke · QCFormation complémentaire | 4 à 6 mois | Not stated on the school’s page | completed Canadian FM residency less than one year before start | Financement MSSS (approbation requise; lettre du milieu recruteur/PREM); salaire R3 FMRQ per comparative table | Open to 1 Feb 2027 (each year) |
| Soins aigus en établissement en médecine de famille (hospitalisation) (3 mois)Université de Sherbrooke · QCFormation complémentaire | 3 mois | Not stated on the school’s page | completed Canadian FM residency less than one year before start | Financement MSSS (approbation requise; lettre du milieu recruteur/PREM); salaire R3 FMRQ per comparative table | Open to 1 Feb 2027 (each year) |
| Évaluation musculo-squelettique, infiltrations échoguidées et échographie ciblée (3 mois)Université de Sherbrooke · QCFormation complémentaire | 3 mois | Not stated on the school’s page | completed Canadian FM residency less than one year before start | Financement MSSS (approbation requise; lettre du milieu recruteur/PREM); salaire R3 FMRQ per comparative table | Open to 1 Feb 2027 (each year) |
| Leadership clinique en GMF (3 mois)Université de Sherbrooke · QCFormation complémentaire | 3 mois | Not stated on the school’s page | completed Canadian FM residency less than one year before start | Financement MSSS (approbation requise; lettre du milieu recruteur/PREM); salaire R3 FMRQ per comparative table | Open to 1 Feb 2027 (each year) |
| Médecine des populations vulnérables (3 mois)Université de Sherbrooke · QCFormation complémentaire | 3 mois | Not stated on the school’s page | completed Canadian FM residency less than one year before start | Financement MSSS (approbation requise; lettre du milieu recruteur/PREM); salaire R3 FMRQ per comparative table | Open to 1 Feb 2027 (each year) |
| Soins intensifs à visée communautaire (6 mois; programme parrainé par la médecine interne)Université de Sherbrooke · QCFormation complémentaire | 6 mois | Not stated on the school’s page | Not stated on the school’s page | Not stated on the school’s page | No dates published |
| Care of the Elderly - six-month option for physicians returning from practiceMemorial University of Newfoundland · NLCategory 1, not in CaRMS | 6 months (returning-from-practice option); 12 months via CaRMS | Two 6-month positions per year | Physicians returning from practice (CCFP certified or eligible to sit the CCFP examination) | NL Dept of Health and Community Services: one-time $50,000 incentive for practising family physicians returning to MUN's COE ES, with a two-year return-in-service; application via the Office of Health Professional Recruitment and Retention | No dates published |
| Care of Underserved Populations (CUP)Memorial University of Newfoundland · NLCategory 2 | 6 months or 12 months | One 12-month position (or two 6-month positions) | Currently enrolled FM residents or practising family physicians (CCFP certified or eligible) | Not stated on the school’s page | Date unclear on the school’s page |