Calgary - Diagnostic Radiology
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 6 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic Radiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36128
Summary
- This is a 5-year Diagnostic Radiology residency based primarily at Foothills Medical Centre in Calgary, with training at several other Calgary hospitals and community clinics.
- Residents spend PGY-1 at Rockyview General Hospital on clinical rotations, including 12 weeks of diagnostic radiology.
- A QA/QI project and a second research project are mandatory, with four weeks provided for research.
- Transition to Practice includes 2 blocks in a Senior's Clinic, an outpatient community radiology clinic.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (ACH)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH)
Show all 9Show fewer
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC)
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Center (ACCCC)
- Richmond Road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre (RRDTC)
- South Health Campus (SHC)
- Calgary Maternal Fetal Medicine Centre
- Senior Residents' Clinic
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Senior Resident Radiology Clinic where senior residents independently run a community outpatient radiology clinic.
- Two full blocks at a Maternal Fetal Medicine Centre with 1:1 teaching by perinatologists.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- General Internal Medicine (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 4 weeks)
- General Internal Medicine Subspecialty - Elective (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 4 weeks)
- Respirology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 4 weeks)
- General Surgery (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 4 weeks)
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 4 weeks)
- Neurology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 4 weeks)
- Radiation Oncology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 2 weeks)
- Medical Oncology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 2 weeks)
- Pediatric Emergency (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 4 weeks)
- Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 4 weeks)
- Diagnostic Radiology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 12 weeks)
- Neuro and body CT (Foundations of Discipline (FD))
- thoracics (Foundations of Discipline (FD))
- ultrasound (Foundations of Discipline (FD))
- GI/GU Fluoroscopy (Foundations of Discipline (FD))
- MSK (Foundations of Discipline (FD))
- ER (Foundations of Discipline (FD))
- abdominopelvic CT/MRI (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- neuro CT/MRI (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- thoracics (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- cardiac (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- breast imaging (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- ultrasound (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- GI/GU fluoroscopy (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- CT GU (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2) · at a 2nd community hospital site)
- MSK (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2) · in both the tertiary and community hospital setting)
- maternal-fetal-medicine/obstetrical imaging (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- nuclear medicine (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- pediatric radiology (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- interventional radiology (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2))
- AIRP (American Institute for Radiological Pathology) course (Core of Discipline (Core 1 and Core 2) · 1 block)
- Senior's Clinic (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 2 blocks)
- elective (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 2 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Tue 26 Jan 20276:00 pm MST
Social · Virtual · For all applicants · Listed under interviews on CaRMSCheck with the program
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC) (Calgary)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (ACH) (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH) (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC) (Calgary)
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Center (ACCCC) (Calgary)
- Richmond Road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre (RRDTC) (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (SHC) (Calgary)
- Calgary Maternal Fetal Medicine Centre (Calgary)
- Senior Residents' Clinic (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Pamie Dow
Program Administrator
Ariane Jacques
Program administrator
Program directors
Dr. Muhammed Hatem
Program Director
Anne-Marie Brisson
Assistant Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage