Calgary - Neuropathology
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neuropathology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36081
Summary
- This is a 5-year neuropathology residency based mainly at the Foothills Medical Centre in Calgary.
- Pediatric and forensic neuropathology training takes place at Alberta Children's Hospital and the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner.
- The Foundation stage combines clinical rotations with anatomical pathology rotations, and residents are expected to complete at least one scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (ACH)
- Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME)
Show all 7Show fewer
- Diagnostic and Scientific Centre (DSC)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC)
- South Health Campus (SHC)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Call
- Home call · frequency “1 week maximum per block”
- Highlights
- Dedicated longitudinal forensic pathology experience in collaboration with the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner.
- Centralized Calgary autopsies: 180–220 adult and 120–150 perinatal/pediatric autopsies yearly at Foothills.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- adult neurology (Foundation)
- adult neuro-oncology (Foundation)
- pediatric neurology (Foundation)
- pediatric oncology (Foundation)
- internal medicine (Foundation)
- neurosurgery (Foundation)
- neuroradiology (Foundation)
- elective (Foundation)
- General surgical pathology (Foundation · 2-3 blocks)
- Pediatric pathology (Foundation · 2 blocks)
- Bone and soft tissue pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Lymph node pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Head and neck pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Molecular pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Autopsy pathology (Foundation · 2 blocks)
- Forensic pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Core neuropathology training (Core · at least 2 years · Foothills Medical Centre)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC) (Calgary)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (ACH) (Calgary)
- Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME) (Calgary)
- Diagnostic and Scientific Centre (DSC) (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH) (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC) (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (SHC) (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 6 of 9 years.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Christopher Newell
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage