Calgary - Radiation Oncology
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Radiation Oncology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35827
Summary
- The University of Calgary Radiation Oncology residency is a 5-year program whose main training site is the Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre.
- PGY-1 includes 11 months of Foundations rotations, and the Core stage includes a mandatory rural/community-based radiation oncology rotation of at least 4 weeks.
- Residents are expected to complete at least one research project, with up to six elective/research blocks.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
- Tom Baker Cancer Centre
- Foothills Medical Centre
Show all 9Show fewer
- Peter Lougheed Centre
- Rockyview General Hospital
- South Health Campus
- Alberta Children's Hospital
- Jack Ady Cancer Centre
- Central Alberta Cancer Centre
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Core rotations are 8 weeks long, with one or two preceptors per trainee.
- Main training centre has two MR linear accelerators and MRI-guided brachytherapy suites.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- general internal medicine (Foundations · four week)
- general surgery (Foundations · four week)
- respirology (Foundations · four week)
- otolaryngology (Foundations · four week)
- emergency medicine (Foundations · four week)
- gynecologic oncology (Foundations · four week)
- pediatric oncology (Foundations · four week)
- medical oncology (Foundations · four week)
- palliative care (Foundations · four week)
- pathology (Foundations · four week)
- diagnostic radiology (Foundations · four week)
- radiation oncology rotations (Core · 36-44 months)
- electives/research blocks (Core · up to 6 blocks)
- rural/community-based radiation oncology rotation (Core · minimum of 4 weeks)
- medical oncology (Core · four-week)
- Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · 3-9 months)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre (Calgary)
- Tom Baker Cancer Centre (Calgary)
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (Calgary)
- Jack Ady Cancer Centre (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
- Central Alberta Cancer Centre (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Tanner Steed
Associate Program Director
Dr. Jordan Stosky
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage