Edmonton - Medical Microbiology
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Microbiology
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35387
Summary
- This is a five-year Medical Microbiology residency in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at the University of Alberta.
- Most laboratory rotations take place at Edmonton Base Lab and ProvLab in Edmonton, with clinical rotations at Edmonton hospitals.
- Each resident must complete at least one research project, and research blocks are provided.
- Call is taken from home.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Public health agency
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Edmonton Base Lab
- Provincial Laboratory for Public Health for Northern Alberta
- Provincial Laboratory for Public Health for Southern Alberta
Show all 7Show fewer
- University of Alberta Hospital
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Misericordia Community Hospital
- Grey Nuns Community Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Highlights
- Described as one of the largest free-standing microbiology residency programs in Canada.
- Residents are expected to author at least one abstract or paper and present at conferences.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
- Pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline)
- Infectious Diseases (Foundations of Discipline)
- General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
- Medical Microbiology (Foundations of Discipline)
- community and public health Medical Microbiology laboratories (Core of Discipline)
- laboratory management (Core of Discipline)
- Adult Infectious Diseases (Core of Discipline)
- Pediatric Infectious Diseases (Core of Discipline)
- Infection Prevention and Control (Core of Discipline)
- Antimicrobial Stewardship (Core of Discipline)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Edmonton Base Lab (Edmonton)
- Provincial Laboratory for Public Health for Northern Alberta (Edmonton)
- Provincial Laboratory for Public Health for Southern Alberta (Calgary)
- University of Alberta Hospital (Edmonton)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital (Edmonton)
- Misericordia Community Hospital (Edmonton)
- Grey Nuns Community Hospital (Edmonton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 6 of 9 years.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. William Stokes
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage