Edmonton - Neurosurgery
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36255
Summary
- The University of Alberta Neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program based at University Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital and the Stollery Children's Hospital.
- PGY 4 is designated for research or a clinical elective, and MSc or PhD programs are available.
- Residents complete annual research projects under a preceptor, and there is no return of service requirement.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Walter C. MacKenzie Health Sciences Center (University of Alberta Hospital)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Stollery Children's Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- Leduc Community Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Flexible PGY 4 year for research, pre-fellowship interests, in-folded fellowships or further clinical experience.
- Exposure to intraoperative MRI, robotic surgery, laser interstitial thermal therapy, Gamma Knife and deep brain stimulation.
- Community neurosurgery rotations at Leduc to add simple spine operative exposure.
By year
- PGY-1
- Coronary Care Unitone 28-day block
- Emergency Medicineone 28-day block
- General Surgerytwo 28-day blocks
- Anesthesiaone 28-day block
- Neurosurgerysix 28-day blocks
- Pediatric Neurosurgeryone 28-day block
- PGY-2
- Neurosurgery7 blocks
- ICU3 blocks
- Neurology2 blocks
- Neuroradiology1 block
- PGY-3
- Neuropathology3 blocks
- Gamma Knife1 block
- Interventional Neuroradiology1 block
- Clinical Neurosurgery rotations
Other rotations
- Clinical Neurosurgical Service (PGY 5 to 6)
- Lead Resident (PGY 5 to 6 · At least 12 months)
- Transition to Practice (PGY 5 to 6 · the last 3 months)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
| PGY-6 | $98,414 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Walter C. MacKenzie Health Sciences Center (University of Alberta Hospital) (Edmonton)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital (Edmonton)
- Stollery Children's Hospital (Edmonton)
- Leduc Community Hospital (Leduc)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Cameron Elliott
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage