Edmonton - Radiation Oncology
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Radiation Oncology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36080
Summary
- The University of Alberta Radiation Oncology program is a 5-year residency organized in four stages from Transition to Discipline to Transition to Practice.
- Core training consists of preceptor-based blocks at the Cross Cancer Institute, with residents taking home call.
- Residents must complete a scholarly project, and MSc or PhD programs can be integrated into the residency.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Cross Cancer Institute (CCI)
- University of Alberta Hospital (UAH)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital (RAH)
Show all 8Show fewer
- Grey Nuns Community Hospital (GNCH)
- Misericordia Community Hospital (MCH)
- Grande Prairie Cancer Centre
- Central Alberta Cancer Centre (Red Deer)
- Jack Ady Cancer Centre (Lethbridge)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- Home call · frequency “approximately 7 days per block (no more than 9)”
- Highlights
- Training centre has a GammaKnife ICON unit and an MRI-Linac.
- MSc and PhD programs can be integrated within the 5-year residency through the Clinical Investigator Program.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Orientation in Radiation Oncology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 month)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (F) · 2 blocks)
- General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline (F))
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (F))
- Gynecologic Oncology/Urology (Foundations of Discipline (F) · split block)
- Palliative Care (Foundations of Discipline (F))
- Medical Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (F) · 2 blocks)
- Diagnostic Radiology (Foundations of Discipline (F))
- Respiratory (ATOP) (Foundations of Discipline (F))
- Clinical Physics Month (Core of Discipline (C) · One month)
- Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 3-9 months)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Cross Cancer Institute (CCI) (Edmonton)
- University of Alberta Hospital (UAH) (Edmonton)
- Royal Alexandra Hospital (RAH) (Edmonton)
- Grey Nuns Community Hospital (GNCH) (Edmonton)
- Misericordia Community Hospital (MCH) (Edmonton)
- Grande Prairie Cancer Centre (Grande Prairie · rural or distributed site)
- Central Alberta Cancer Centre (Red Deer) (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)
- Jack Ady Cancer Centre (Lethbridge) (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Adele Duimering
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage