Hamilton - Psychiatry
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 6 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Psychiatry
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 30025
Summary
McMaster University's Psychiatry Residency Program offers a dynamic, flexible 5-year training experience in Hamilton, Ontario. The program emphasizes comprehensive psychiatric training with a strong focus on evidence-based psychotherapies, scholarly inquiry, and care for marginalized populations.
Training
- Research
- Extensive research opportunities with up to 10 blocks of research time in PGY5, possibility of graduate studies through Clinician Investigator Program, and annual research marketplace.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple hospital settings in Hamilton, including Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation, St. Joseph's Healthcare, and community-based clinics, with virtual care options and access to Waterloo Regional Campus opportunities.
- Teaching approach
- A flexible, responsive training approach emphasizing self-directed learning, principles of adult learning, scholarly inquiry, and progressive skill development through Competency-Based Medical Education.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Community hospital
- Specialized psychiatric facilities
- Virtual care platforms
- Focus areas
- General Psychiatry
- Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
- Geriatric Psychiatry
- Forensic Psychiatry
- Mood Disorders
- Anxiety Disorders
- Addiction Medicine
- Women's Mental Health
- Indigenous Mental Health
- Refugee and Immigrant Mental Health
- Patient populations
- Patients with serious mental illnesses
- Marginalized populations
- Indigenous patients
- Refugees and immigrants
- Patients with mood disorders
- Patients with anxiety disorders
- Patients with addiction issues
- Child and adolescent patients
- Geriatric patients
- Highlights
- Clinician Investigator Program (CIP)
- Comprehensive psychotherapy training
- Protected academic day per week
- Equity, diversity, and inclusion curriculum
- Resident wellness curriculum
- Concurrent graduate studies opportunities
- Research marketplace for learners
- Leadership and mentorship programs
- Strengths
- Renowned faculty expertise
- Comprehensive research opportunities
- Strong focus on equity and inclusion
- Flexible training model
- Robust psychotherapy training
- Multiple subspecialty exposure
- Academic excellence
- Enhanced skills
- Psychotherapy training
- Clinical Investigator Program
- Graduate studies opportunities
- Leadership training
- Mentorship programs
By year
- PGY-1
- Emergency Psychiatry4 weeks
- Internal MedicineBlocks not specified
- Family MedicineBlocks not specified
- NeurologyBlocks not specified
- Adolescent MedicineBlocks not specified
- Emergency MedicineBlocks not specified
- AddictionsBlocks not specified
- PGY-2
- General Adult Inpatient Psychiatry5.5-6 blocks
- General Adult Outpatient Psychiatry5.5-6 blocks
- Inpatient Substance Use Consultation Service2 weeks
- PGY-3
- Child and Adolescent Psychiatry6 blocks
- Geriatric Psychiatry6 blocks
- PGY-4
- Chronic Care Psychiatry6 blocks
- Elective4 blocks
- Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry3 blocks
- PGY-5
- Elective10 blocks
- Collaborative Care3 blocks
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- CV/Resume
- Interview performance
- Collaboration skills
- Communication skills
- Leadership potential
- Research experience
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 19, 22 and 26 Jan 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- St. Joseph's Healthcare
- Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation
- McMaster Children's Hospital
- West 5th Campus
- Homewood Health Centre
- Grand River Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage