Hamilton - Psychiatry
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 6 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Psychiatry
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35585
Summary
- The McMaster Psychiatry residency is a 5-year program at the Hamilton campus, training in several hospitals across the city, including Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare sites.
- Residents complete an 8-week resident-designed selective with marginalized populations and choose the site and supervisor for their psychiatry rotations.
- Call is at a single centralized site in downtown Hamilton, and a QI project is a minimum scholarly requirement.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation
- St. Joseph's Healthcare
- Halton Healthcare
Show all 7Show fewer
- McMaster Children's Hospital
- West 5th Campus of St. Joseph's Healthcare
- Homewood Health Centre
- Grand River Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · frequency “1/10 and 1/15-18”
- Highlights
- Residents choose their own site and supervisor for every psychiatry rotation rather than being assigned.
- PGY1 core rotation with the medical team caring for patients admitted to psychiatry.
- PGY5 'Junior Attending' call shifts that simulate staff emergency psychiatrist practice.
By year
- PGY-1
- Emergency Psychiatryfour-week block
- selectiveone block
- electiveone block
- Internal Medicine
- Family Medicine
- Neurology
- Adolescent Medicine
- Emergency Medicine
- Addictions
- core rotation working with the medical team providing care to patients admitted to Psychiatry
- PGY-2
- General Adult Inpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
- General Adult Outpatient Psychiatry6 blocks
- Anchored Selective1 block
- PGY-3
- Child & Adolescent Psychiatry6 blocks
- Geriatric Psychiatry6 blocks
- Anchored Selective1 block
- PGY-4
- Chronic Care Psychiatry6 blocks
- Elective, which may include research4 blocks
- Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry3 blocks
- PGY-5
- electives10 blocks
- Collaborative Care3 blocks
Other rotations
- Transition to Discipline (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 and 28 Jan 2027; 1 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Info sessions
Tue 13 Oct 20266:00–7:00 pm EST
Meet and greet · Virtual and in person
Link for McMaster University, Tue 13 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Healthcare (Hamilton)
- Halton Healthcare
- McMaster Children's Hospital (Hamilton)
- West 5th Campus of St. Joseph's Healthcare (Hamilton)
- Homewood Health Centre (Guelph)
- Grand River Hospital (Kitchener-Waterloo)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Megan Puckering
Associate Program Director
Dr. Amanda Ritsma
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage