Skip to content
CdnMD

Inverness - Cape Breton - Family Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityInverness, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 11 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35747

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This two-year Dalhousie family medicine program is based in Inverness, with training throughout Cape Breton including Sydney and Antigonish.
  • The clinical curriculum is longitudinal and integrated, with limited block rotations in obstetrics and gynecology, ICU, geriatrics and palliative care.
  • Residents follow a patient panel under one to two primary preceptors and complete a required scholarly project with protected time.

Training

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Regional community
Sites

3 teaching sites

  • Inverness Consolidated Hospital
  • Cape Breton Regional Hospital
  • St. Martha’s Regional Hospital

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Indigenous health
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • One to two primary preceptors supervise each resident continuously across the whole two-year residency.
  • PGY2 residents run a resident clinic for patients without a primary care provider.
  • Longitudinal Indigenous health exposure in both community and hospital settings.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • Orthopaedics
  • General Surgery
  • Pediatrics
  • Psychiatry
  • Palliative Medicine
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • ICU
  • Geriatrics
  • Palliative Care
  • electives (eight weeks)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
401–600
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 1 Oct 2026. Dates and times are as the program wrote them, not converted to your time zone. Programs add and change sessions: confirm with the program.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year

One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Frequency of call
l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

  • Inverness Consolidated Hospital (Inverness)
  • Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Sydney)
  • St. Martha’s Regional Hospital (Antigonish)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Inverness Consolidated Hospital

Matched to Inverness Consolidated Memorial Hospital (Inverness) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Community As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

Cape Breton Regional Hospital

Matched to Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Sydney) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

St. Martha’s Regional Hospital

Matched to St. Martha’s Regional Hospital (Antigonish) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Inverness - Cape Breton.

Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20192 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202000
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20262 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

Program Information

fmresidency@dal.ca

James Logan · Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator

Program director

  • Dr. Sasha Sealy

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites

Cape Breton - Inverness Site

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Inverness, Nova Scotia

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−4.0 °C Cheticamp, 53.9 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
July average
18.8 °C Cheticamp, 53.9 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
Snowfall
281.1 cm a year Sydney, 96.3 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
Days below −20 °C
2.1 days a year Cheticamp, 53.9 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Inverness, Subd. B, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
4,865 people down 1.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 96.6% · French only not reported · English and French 3.4% · neither not reported Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
3.9% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 0.5% · non-permanent residents: 0.8%
Indigenous identity
2.1% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 90.9% · public transit 1.2% · walking or cycling 5.0% · other 2.9% Average commute: 19.2 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$65,000 before tax $58,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Inverness, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 1,228 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.441 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$51,917 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Nova Scotia, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Very good The employment outlook will be Very good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Cape Breton region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.