Inverness - Family Medicine
Dalhousie UniversityInverness, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 2 positions
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 401–600
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 29307
Summary
The Dalhousie Family Medicine Residency Program at the Inverness site offers a comprehensive two-year training experience focused on community-based family medicine. Residents will develop skills across multiple clinical domains, with an emphasis on longitudinal patient care and competency-based learning in a supportive, small-group environment.
Training
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time for research activities.
- Training setting
- Rural community setting in Cape Breton, with training across multiple clinical environments including family medicine clinics, emergency departments, and inpatient wards. Primarily based in Inverness with access to regional medical center in Sydney.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education emphasizing self-directed learning, progressive independence, and achievement of clinical competencies rather than time-based training.
- Setting types
- Rural community hospital
- Family medicine clinic
- Community health center
- Focus areas
- Rural Family Medicine
- Community-Based Care
- Longitudinal Patient Care
- Emergency Medicine
- Indigenous Health
- Comprehensive Family Practice
- Patient populations
- Rural community patients
- Patients without primary care providers
- Indigenous patients
- Diverse age groups
- Patients with complex medical needs
- Highlights
- Longitudinal integrated curriculum
- Patient panel management
- One-on-one mentorship with primary preceptors
- Indigenous health exposure
- Competency-based training
- Resident-led learning approach
- Teaching opportunities with medical students
- Strengths
- Strong community-based training
- High preceptor-to-resident ratio
- Comprehensive clinical exposure
- Commitment to rural medical practice
- Emphasis on continuity of care
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
By year
- PGY-1
- Family MedicineLongitudinal
- Emergency MedicineLongitudinal
- Internal MedicineLongitudinal
- PGY-2
- Electives8 weeks
- Family MedicineLongitudinal
- PediatricsLongitudinal
- PsychiatryLongitudinal
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Exam Part 1
- Structured Reference Letters
- Personal Letter
- Interview Performance
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 13, 24 and 27 Nov 2025; 10, 26, 27, 28, 29 and 30 Jan 2026; 6 Feb 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Inverness Consolidated Hospital
- Cape Breton Regional Hospital
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Inverness Consolidated Hospital
- Hospital type
- Community
Cape Breton Regional Hospital
- Hospital type
- Regional
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Inverness, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.0 °C
- July average
- 18.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 281.1 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 2.1 days a year
People
- Population
- 4,865 people
- Official languages
- English only 96.6% · French only not reported · English and French 3.4% · neither not reported
- Immigrants
- 3.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.1% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.9% · public transit 1.2% · walking or cycling 5.0% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $65,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Inverness, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.441
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $51,917 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage