Montfort - Bilingual - Family Medicine
University of OttawaMontfort, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35334
Summary
- This two-year community-based family medicine program is centred at Hôpital Montfort in Ottawa and serves the francophone minority community of eastern Ontario.
- Training runs over 26 four-week blocks, including 9 family medicine blocks at Montfort, 2 rural medicine blocks and paediatrics at the children's hospital.
- Training takes place in a francophone setting, but some rotations and teaching sessions are in English.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- hôpital Montfort
- Cemtre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO)
- Hôpital d’Ottawa
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Francophone minority communities
- Rural / remote
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Optional international medicine elective in Benin (West Africa) or Baffin.
- Montfort residents get an additional family-medicine-focused academic day each block.
- Teaching clinics include memory, procedures, contraception and gender diversity clinics.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- médecine familiale (9 blocs · Montfort)
- médecine interne (2 blocs · Montfort)
- soins palliatifs (1 bloc · Montfort)
- urgence (2 blocs · Montfort)
- obstétrique-gynécologie (1 bloc · Montfort)
- périnatalité (1 bloc · Montfort)
- gériatrie (1 bloc · Montfort)
- rheumatologie (1 bloc · Montfort)
- psychiatrie (1 bloc · Montfort)
- médecine rurale (2 blocs)
- pédiatrie (1 bloc · Hôpital pour enfants)
- pédiatrie communautaire (1 bloc)
- électifs (3 blocs · Hôpital d’Ottawa)
- Médecine internationale (Stages à option · 2 blocs · Afrique de l’Ouest (Bénin); Baffin)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- hôpital Montfort (Ottawa)
- Cemtre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- Hôpital d’Ottawa (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 9 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 6 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 2 positions open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2023 | 8 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 5 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program directors
Dr(e) Sohil Rangwala
Dre Marjorie Pomerleau
Directrice du programme de résidence de Montfort
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Other contacts
Kim Rozon
Chef du programme postdoctoral
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montfort, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage