Skip to content
CdnMD

Montfort - Médecine familiale

Université d’OttawaMontfort, OntarioDCM stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved date not on file

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
13 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
DCM
Discipline
Médecine familiale
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Not stated on CaRMS page
CaRMS program ID
30167

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

A unique two-year Family Medicine residency program located in the National Capital Region, serving the francophone minority community of Eastern Ontario. The program offers a comprehensive, personalized training experience with a focus on bilingual, community-based medical practice.

Training

Research
Residents are expected to understand and demonstrate quality improvement research skills in primary care.
Training setting
Training occurs in urban Ottawa and rural francophone communities, with clinical experiences at Montfort Hospital, CHEO (Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario), and various community clinics.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education following CanMEDS principles, focusing on developing autonomous, compassionate, and professionally competent family physicians.
Setting types
  • Academic medical center
  • Community hospital
  • Rural clinic
Focus areas
  • Francophone minority healthcare
  • Urban and rural medicine
  • Community-based family medicine
  • Bilingual medical practice
Patient populations
  • Urban patients
  • Rural patients
  • Francophone minority community
  • Pediatric patients
  • Geriatric patients
Highlights
  • Personalized 1:1 mentorship
  • Decentralized Family Medicine Unit
  • International medicine electives
  • Academic teaching days
  • Flexible program structure
Strengths
  • Strong francophone training environment
  • Comprehensive clinical exposure
  • Bilingual medical education
  • Diverse clinical experiences
Enhanced skills
  • International medicine
  • Rural medicine
  • Obstetrics
  • Palliative care

By year

PGY-1
  • Family MedicineMontfort9 blocks
  • Internal MedicineMontfort2 blocks
  • Emergency MedicineMontfort2 blocks
  • Palliative CareMontfort1 block
  • Obstetrics-GynecologyMontfort1 block
  • Perinatal CareMontfort1 block
PGY-2
  • ElectivesOttawa Hospital3 blocks
  • Rural MedicineVarious2 blocks
  • International MedicineWest Africa (Benin), Baffin2 blocks
  • PediatricsChildren's Hospital1 block
  • Community PediatricsCommunity1 block

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • CProMF (Family Medicine Professional Choices) test
  • Academic performance
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Hôpital Montfort
  • Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO)
  • Hôpital d'Ottawa

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Montfort.

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Location

Montfort, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−9.6 °C Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away
July average
21.3 °C Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away
Snowfall
184.5 cm a year Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away
Days below −20 °C
15.4 days a year Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Ottawa, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
1,017,449 people up 8.9% from 2016
Official languages
English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
25.9% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 4.7% · non-permanent residents: 3.0%
Indigenous identity
2.6% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4% Average commute: 23.0 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$102,000 before tax $88,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 1,068,821 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.097 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.9% October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$58,803 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
7.2% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.8 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Very good The employment outlook will be Very good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Ottawa region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.