Montreal - Dermatology
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Dermatology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36305
Summary
- Université de Montréal's dermatology residency is a 5-year French-language program.
- Training takes place at CHUM, HMR, CHU Sainte-Justine and Hôpital Sacré-Coeur in Montréal, and includes a regional dermatology rotation.
- Residents must submit two peer-reviewed publications and complete a short clinical or educational research project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- CHUM
- HMR (Pavillon Rosemont)
- CHU Sainte-Justine
Show all 4Show fewer
- HSCM (Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Required tropical diseases rotation and six pediatric dermatology rotations during core training.
- Residents must submit two peer-reviewed publications during residency.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- dermatologie (Progression vers la discipline)
- endocrinologie (Progression vers la discipline)
- gastroentérologie (Progression vers la discipline)
- dermatologie clinique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2)
- dermatologie hospitalière (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- rhumatologie adulte (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- immuno-rhumatologie pédiatrique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- unité d’enseignement clinique en médecine interne (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2)
- urgence pédiatrique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2)
- dermatopathologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- urgence/stage de nuit (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- plastie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- immuno-allergie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- microbiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- médecine vasculaire (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
- dermatologie en région (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
- dermatologie clinique (Maîtrise de la discipline · sites variés)
- dermatologie hospitalière (Maîtrise de la discipline)
- oncologie médicale (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
- dermatologie esthétique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
- dermatologie pédiatrique (Maîtrise de la discipline · 6)
- Chirurgie de Mohs (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2)
- dermatopathologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2)
- maladies tropicales (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1)
- stages à option (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 ou 4)
- clinique longitudinale (Transition vers la pratique)
- dermatologie hospitalière (rôle senior) (Transition vers la pratique)
- dermatologie clinique (Transition vers la pratique)
- programme d'auto-évaluation/amélioration continue (Transition vers la pratique)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUM (Montréal)
- HMR (Pavillon Rosemont) (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- HSCM (Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal) (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
HMR (Pavillon Rosemont)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
HSCM (Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Personne contact
stephanie.arseneault.sivret.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Mme Stéphanie Arseneault Sivret · Secrétaire à l'enseignement - programme de dermatologie
Program director
Dermatologue
Dr(e) Isabelle Marcil
Directrice de programme
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage