Montreal - Ophtalmologie
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Ophtalmologie
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 29274
Summary
A comprehensive 5-year ophthalmology residency program at the Université de Montréal, offering extensive training across all ophthalmic subspecialties. The program emphasizes one-on-one learning with professors and provides diverse clinical experiences across multiple university-affiliated hospitals.
Training
- Research
- Residents must complete at least one research project during their five-year program, with strong encouragement for peer-reviewed publication.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple university-affiliated hospitals in Montreal, including CHUM, Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, CHU Sainte-Justine, and Hôpital Sacré-Coeur, with potential rotation in Trois-Rivières.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, comprehensive skill development, and individualized learning through one-on-one supervision.
- Setting types
- Academic medical centers
- University-affiliated hospitals
- Focus areas
- Ophthalmology
- Pediatric Ophthalmology
- Strabismus
- Cornea
- Glaucoma
- Retina
- Ocular Oncology
- Neuro-ophthalmology
- Oculoplastics
- Patient populations
- Pediatric patients
- Adult ophthalmology patients
- Emergency ophthalmology patients
- Highlights
- One-to-one learning model
- Annual research project requirement
- TORIC basic sciences course in Toronto
- Wills' Eye Institute review course
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) since July 2023
- Strengths
- Large ophthalmology department with 60 professors and 25 residents
- Comprehensive subspecialty training
- Flexible final year with optional rotations
- Strong research component
- Enhanced skills
- Optional rotations in final year
- International course attendance
By year
- PGY-1
- General Ophthalmology3 periods
- Plastic Surgery1 period
- Microbiology1 period
- Neurology1 period
- Emergency1 period
- Night shifts in Internal Medicine1 period
- Dermatology1 period
- Rheumatology1 period
- Endocrinology1 period
- Basic Sciences in Ophthalmology1 period
- PGY-2
- Anterior Segment and Emergency5 periods
- Glaucoma and Emergency5 periods
- General Ophthalmology1 period
- Oculoplastics1 period
- Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus1 period
- Refractive Surgery1 week
- PGY-3
- Retina/Uveitis/Ocular Oncology5 periods
- Pediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus4 periods
- Neuro-ophthalmology4 periods
- PGY-4
- Cataract Surgery
- Glaucoma Surgery
- Posterior Segment Surgery
- Cornea Surgery
- Oculoplastics Surgery
- Strabismus Surgery
- Regional Rotation in Estrie
- PGY-5
- Ocular Histopathology2 periods
- Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus2 periods
- Oculoplastics2 periods
- Community Ophthalmology1 period
- Low Vision1 week
- Wills' Eye Institute Review Course1 week
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Pre-clinical grades
- Clinical evaluations
- Research and publications
- Manual skills
- Extracurricular activities
- Reference letters
- Motivation letter
- Ophthalmology and elective rotations
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUM
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage