Montreal - Ophthalmology
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Ophthalmology
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35984
Summary
- This is a 5-year French-language ophthalmology residency whose first year consists mostly of internal medicine, plastic surgery and 3 ophthalmology periods.
- Core years take place mainly at CHUM and Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, with pediatric ophthalmology at CHU Sainte-Justine.
- Residents must complete at least one research project, with 5% of residency time allocated to it.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- CHUM
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- CHU Sainte-Justine
Show all 5Show fewer
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Campus Trois-Rivieres
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- One-to-one teaching: a single faculty member usually supervises a single resident in clinic and surgery.
- Residents attend the TORIC basic science course in Toronto and the Wills Eye review course in Philadelphia.
By year
- PGY-1
- ophtalmologie générale3 périodes
- urgence1 période
- stage de nuit en médecine interne et à l'urgence1 période
- dermatologie1 période
- rhumatologie1 période
- endocrinologie1 période
- sciences de base en ophtalmologie1 période
- Chirurgie plastique
- microbiologie
- neurologie
- PGY-2
- segment antérieur (cornée) et urgence5 périodes
- glaucome et urgence5 périodes
- oculoplastie1 période
- ophtalmologie pédiatrique et strabisme (initiation)1 période
- ophtalmologie généraleune période
- chirurgie réfractiveune semaine
- PGY-3
- rétine/uvéite/oncologie oculaire
- ophtalmologie pédiatrique & strabisme
- neuro-ophtalmologie
- PGY-4
- chirurgie de la cataracte
- chirurgie du glaucome
- du segment postérieur
- de la cornée
- oculoplastie
- strabisme
- stage en région
- PGY-5
- Histopathologie oculaire2 périodes
- ophtalmologie pédiatrique et strabisme2 périodes
- oculoplastie2 périodes
- ophtalmogie communautaire1 période
- basse vision1 semaine
- cours de révision (Wills' Eye Institute)une semaine
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUM (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (Montréal)
- Campus Trois-Rivieres (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Sacré-Coeur
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) Emilie Goodyear
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage