Montreal - Radiation Oncology
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Radiation Oncology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36301
Summary
- This is a 5-year radiation oncology residency at Université de Montréal, with most required radiation oncology rotations at CHUM and Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont.
- The first year covers medicine, surgery, palliative care and radiology, and a community rotation at Laval or Charles-Lemoyne is included.
- Residents complete a research project, and most take 1 to 3 research periods.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- CHUM
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR)
- Cité de la Santé de Laval
Show all 5Show fewer
- Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Exposure to CyberKnife radiosurgery, LDR/HDR brachytherapy and intraoperative radiotherapy.
- Option to do radiation oncology rotations in the McGill or Université Laval networks.
By year
- PGY-1
- stage de transition à la discipline
- soins palliatifs
- chirurgie (ORL-oncologie, neurochirurgie, chirurgie générale ou gynéco-oncologie)
- médecine interne (oncologie, pneumologie, médecine de nuit)
- radiologie
- neuro-radiologie
- PGY-2
- stages dans des sous-spécialités de la radio-oncologie
- dosimétrie des photons
- PGY-3
- stages dans les différentes sous-spécialités de la radio-oncologie
- PGY-5
- dosimétrie en lien avec la radiochirurgie, l'irradiation pancorporelle et les autres techniques spécialisés
Other rotations
- stage en milieu communautaire (Cité de la Santé de Laval, soit à l'Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne)
- transition vers la pratique (3 à 9 mois)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUM (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR) (Montréal)
- Cité de la Santé de Laval (Laval)
- Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Cité de la Santé de Laval
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
- Licensed beds
- physical health 438 · psychiatry 51
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
- Licensed beds
- physical health 571
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program director
Dr(e) Guila Delouya
Directrice de programme
Other contacts
Yasmin Amasifuen
AEU, Direction de l'enseignement du CHUM
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage