Montreal - Radio-oncologie
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Radio-oncologie
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 29953
Summary
The Université de Montréal Radio-oncologie program is a 5-year residency that began transitioning to Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) in 2019. The program is distinguished by its friendly atmosphere, diverse professional faculty, and high-quality technical platform, offering residents exposure to advanced radiotherapy techniques like CyberKnife, brachytherapy, and adaptive radiotherapy.
Training
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a research project, which can be clinical or fundamental, leading to a publication, oral presentation, or conference poster.
- Training setting
- Training occurs primarily at CHUM and Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR) in Montreal, with additional rotations in community hospitals and pediatric oncology at CHU Sainte-Justine.
- Teaching approach
- A progressive, competency-based approach focusing on individual resident development, with increasing autonomy and responsibility throughout the 5-year program, emphasizing multidisciplinary learning and patient-centered care.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Community hospital
- Pediatric oncology center
- Focus areas
- Radiation Oncology
- Medical Physics
- Radiobiology
- Oncology
- Cancer Treatment
- Patient populations
- Oncology patients
- Cancer patients
- Pediatric oncology patients
- Palliative care patients
- Highlights
- CyberKnife radiosurgery
- Brachytherapy (temporary and permanent implants)
- Intraoperative radiotherapy
- Adaptive radiotherapy
- Research project requirement
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) transition
- Strengths
- Comprehensive radiotherapy technology exposure
- Strong multidisciplinary faculty
- Individualized training approach
- Research integration
- Advanced technical training
- Enhanced skills
- Research methodology
- Medical physics
- Radiobiology
- Transition to practice
By year
- PGY-1
- Transition to DisciplineUnspecified
- Palliative CareUnspecified
- SurgeryUnspecified
- Internal MedicineUnspecified
- RadiologyUnspecified
- PGY-2
- Radiation Oncology SubspecialtiesUnspecified
- Photon DosimetryUnspecified
- PGY-3
- Radiation Oncology SubspecialtiesUnspecified
- Research ProjectUnspecified
- PGY-4
- Radiation OncologyUnspecified
- PGY-5
- Dosimetry3-9 months
- Radiation OncologyUnspecified
- Transition to PracticeUnspecified
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Academic performance
- Reference letters
- CV
- Research activities
- Interview performance
- ECOS stations
- CanMEDS competencies
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUM
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Cité de la Santé de Laval
- Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne
- CHU Sainte-Justine
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Cité de la Santé de Laval
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 35,279 · 2026–2027: 36,310
- Licensed beds
- physical health 438 · psychiatry 51
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Charles-Lemoyne
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
- Licensed beds
- physical health 571
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage