Ottawa - Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 29551
Summary
The University of Ottawa Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (PM&R) residency program offers comprehensive training for aspiring physiatrists across multiple clinical settings. The program emphasizes a well-structured academic curriculum with a strong focus on CanMEDS roles, preparing graduates to become competent and respected physiatrists in various practice settings.
Training
- Research
- Three dedicated research blocks, with a requirement to complete one research project involving proposal development, ethics review, data collection, and analysis.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple sites in Ottawa, including The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre, Elisabeth Bruyere Health Services, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, and Ottawa Heart Institute, providing diverse clinical exposure.
- Teaching approach
- The program follows a Competence By Design (CBD) approach with four distinct training stages, focusing on Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and CanMEDS 2015 framework milestones.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Tertiary care center
- Community hospital
- Rehabilitation center
- Focus areas
- Pediatric physiatry
- Respiratory rehabilitation
- Cardiac rehabilitation
- Musculoskeletal medicine
- Spinal cord injury
- Stroke rehabilitation
- Acquired brain injury
- Prosthetics and orthotics
- Neuromuscular medicine
- Patient populations
- Pediatric patients
- Stroke patients
- Spinal cord injury patients
- Cardiac rehabilitation patients
- Musculoskeletal patients
- Acquired brain injury patients
- Neuromuscular patients
- Highlights
- Competence By Design (CBD) curriculum
- Annual anatomy half days
- Simulation sessions
- Ultrasound training
- Research project requirement
- Biannual written and OSCE examinations
- Dedicated resident workspace
- Interprovincial and international elective opportunities
- Strengths
- Comprehensive training across all physiatry subspecialties
- Strong academic and research infrastructure
- Flexible and adaptable curriculum
- Multiple training sites
- Supportive learning environment
- Diverse practice opportunities
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Academic standing
- Interest in PM&R
- Communication skills
- Interpersonal skills
- Teamwork abilities
- Research potential
- Interview performance
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 30 Jan 2026; 2 Feb 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital - Rehabilitation Centre
- Elisabeth Bruyere Health Services
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Ottawa Heart Institute
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital General Campus
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage