Ottawa - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35516
Summary
- This is a 5-year Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency at the University of Ottawa with 2 CMG positions for the 2027 match.
- Core training is at The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre and Elisabeth Bruyere Health Services, with pediatric rehabilitation at CHEO and cardiac rehabilitation at the Ottawa Heart Institute.
- Residents must complete a research project, with three blocks dedicated to research.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital - Rehabilitation Centre
- Elisabeth Bruyere Health Services
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
Show all 5Show fewer
- Ottawa Heart Institute
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic and General Campuses
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Three dedicated research blocks plus a required journal-ready research project.
- Annual anatomy lab half days combined with ultrasound teaching and practice.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Physiatry rotations (Transition to discipline · three blocks)
- CTU medicine (Foundations)
- neurology (Foundations)
- rheumatology (Foundations)
- orthopedics (Foundations)
- medicine and surgery subspecialties (Foundations)
- electives (Foundations)
- inpatient MSK (Core)
- Spinal Cord Injury (Core)
- Stroke (Core)
- ABI (Core)
- Prosthetics and Orthotics (Core)
- Pediatric Physiatry (Core)
- outpatient MSK (Core)
- EMG (Core)
- Neuromuscular (Core)
- Cardiac rehab (Core)
- Respiratory rehab (Core)
- research rotations (Core)
- electives (Core)
- personalized training experiences (Transition to Practice · 12 months)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 and 25 Jan 2027
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital - Rehabilitation Centre (Ottawa)
- Elisabeth Bruyere Health Services (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic and General Campuses (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Deanna Quon
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage