Ottawa - Urology
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Urology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36477
Summary
- The University of Ottawa Urology program is a 5-year residency organized into Competence By Design stages.
- Training takes place at The Ottawa Hospital Civic, Riverside and General campuses and CHEO, with regular visits to smaller peripheral hospitals in Hawkesbury, Renfrew and Almonte.
- Residents are expected to always have an ongoing research project, and this IMG stream carries an Ontario return-of-service commitment.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
Show all 7Show fewer
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- Hawkesbury
- Renfrew
- Almonte
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- frequency “1 in 4”
- Highlights
- Residents rotate to small peripheral hospitals (Hawkesbury, Renfrew, Almonte) as part of regular rotations.
- Two-year academic cycle covering Campbell's Urology in its entirety.
By year
- PGY-1
- Adult Urology3 blocks
- Pediatric Urology2 Blocks
- general surgery
- ICU
- ER
- Nephrology
- PGY-2
- adult urology6 blocks
- Vascular Surgery2 blocks
- ICU2 blocks
- general surgery2 blocks
- community urology (elective)1 block
- PGY-3
- pediatric urology3 blocks
- adult urology
- PGY-4
- electivesUp to 3 blocks
- adult urology rotations
- PGY-5
- adult urology rotations including time spent as a Chief administrative resident
Other rotations
- Adult Urology (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · Blocks 1-2)
- adult urology (Transition to Practice (TTP) · final 3-6 months of PGY-5)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- Hawkesbury (Hawkesbury · rural or distributed site)
- Renfrew (Renfrew · rural or distributed site)
- Almonte (Almonte · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Jeff Warren
Jeffrey Warren
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage