Ottawa - Vascular Surgery
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 30275
Summary
The University of Ottawa's Vascular Surgery Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training experience designed to produce highly skilled and professional vascular surgeons. With a long history of excellence, the program offers extensive clinical exposure across open and endovascular procedures, emphasizing early independence and a balanced approach to education.
Training
- Research
- Residents can take research blocks, work with a full-time research coordinator, and are supported in pursuing advanced degrees with faculty holding Masters of Epidemiology.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across three campuses of The Ottawa Hospital and the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, serving a catchment area of 1.25 to 1.5 million people in a tertiary referral center for Vascular disease.
- Teaching approach
- The program emphasizes early exposure, progressive independence, and comprehensive training using Competency by Design (CBD) curriculum, preparing residents for independent surgical practice through structured educational frameworks.
- Setting types
- Academic Medical Center
- Tertiary Referral Center
- Comprehensive Training Facility
- Focus areas
- Open Vascular Surgery
- Endovascular Procedures
- Vascular Diagnostics
- Critical Care
- Interventional Radiology
- Stroke Neurology
- Wound Care
- Patient populations
- Vascular Disease Patients
- Complex Surgical Cases
- Critical Care Patients
- Stroke Patients
- Wound Care Patients
- Highlights
- Competency by Design (CBD) Curriculum
- Research Coordinator Support
- Research Blocks
- Surgeon Scientist Program
- Weekly Difficult Case Rounds
- Academic Half-Days
- Technical Skills Sessions
- Intersocietal Commission for the Accreditation of Vascular Laboratories (ICAVL) Rotation
- Strengths
- One of Canada's Earliest Vascular Surgery Programs
- Extensive Clinical Volume
- Balanced Open and Endovascular Training
- Strong Research Infrastructure
- Collegial and Equitable Program Culture
- Comprehensive International Graduate Placement
- Enhanced skills
- Endovascular Surgery
- Interventional Radiology
- Diagnostic Vascular Procedures
By year
- PGY-1
- Vascular SurgeryBlocks not specified
- PGY-2
- Cardiac SurgeryBlocks not specified
- General SurgeryBlocks not specified
- PGY-3
- Interventional Radiology2 months
- Vascular Diagnostic LaboratoryRotation duration not specified
- PGY-4
- Advanced Vascular ProceduresBlocks not specified
- PGY-5
- Complex Vascular SurgeryBlocks not specified
Selection
- What the program looks at
- CV
- Electives Experience
- Extra-Curricular Activities
- Leadership Skills
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal Letter
- Reference Documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 19 Jan 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage