Ottawa - Vascular Surgery
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35973
Summary
- The University of Ottawa Vascular Surgery program is a 5-year residency based at The Ottawa Hospital's three campuses and the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario.
- Training covers open and endovascular surgery, including a two-month interventional radiology angio-suite rotation and rotations in the vascular diagnostic lab.
- Residents can take research blocks, with optional research years after PGY-2.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital
- Civic Campus
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Rotations in an ICAVL-accredited Vascular Diagnostic Laboratory at the Civic Campus.
- Full-time research coordinator nurse supports resident research projects.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- rotation in the angio-suite (two-month)
- rotations in the lab (Vascular Diagnostic Laboratory at the Ottawa Hospital’s Civic Campus)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)
- Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Prasad Jetty
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage