Regina - Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35702
Summary
- This is a 5-year obstetrics and gynecology residency delivered as a distributed program with positions in Saskatoon and Regina.
- Training involves five hospitals with two tertiary care perinatal units, plus rotations in Prince Albert and North Battleford.
- A research project is required, with protected research time in each block.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Regina General Hospital
- Pasqua Hospital
- Regina Surgical Center (SCI)
Show all 10Show fewer
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Battlefords Union Hospital
- Prince Albert Parkland Health Region
- Moose Jaw Union Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Procedural emphasis
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Junior residents routinely perform advanced minimally invasive procedures such as global ablation and TLH.
- Dedicated research assistant at each site supports residents' study design and statistical analysis.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Surgical Foundations Boot Camp (Transition to Discipline · first two blocks)
- obstetrics (Foundations of Discipline)
- gynecology (Foundations of Discipline)
- ICU (Foundations of Discipline)
- Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline)
- Trauma (Foundations of Discipline)
- gynecologic oncology (Core of Discipline)
- reproductive endocrinology and infertility (Core of Discipline)
- maternal fetal medicine (Core of Discipline)
- pathology (Core of Discipline)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Regina General Hospital (Regina)
- Pasqua Hospital (Regina)
- Regina Surgical Center (SCI) (Regina)
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Battlefords Union Hospital (North Battleford · rural or distributed site)
- Prince Albert Parkland Health Region (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
- Moose Jaw Union Hospital (Moose Jaw · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kristine Mytopher
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Jackie Ferguson
Assistant Program Director (Regina Site)
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Regina, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −14.7 °C
- July average
- 18.6 °C
- Snowfall
- 104.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 44.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 226,404 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.6% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.1% · neither 1.3%
- Immigrants
- 20.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 10.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.2% · public transit 3.6% · walking or cycling 4.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $88,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Regina, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.228
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,765 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Undetermined
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage