Sherbrooke - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35929
Summary
- This five-year otolaryngology–head and neck surgery program begins with a surgical foundations year.
- Most training takes place at the two CHUS sites in Sherbrooke, with rotations in Montréal and Québec City and one intermediate-centre rotation in Gaspé, Gatineau or Drummondville.
- Each resident completes at least one original research project and one quality-of-care project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu
- CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont
- Hôpital Ste-Croix de Drummondville
Show all 10Show fewer
- CHUM
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- CHU de Québec-Université Laval
- Hôpital de Gaspé
- Hôpital de Gatineau
- UQTR
- CLINIQUE DE CHIRURGIE MAXILLO-FACIALE ET D'IMPLANTOLOGIE DE L'ESTRIE
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Residents investigate and operate on all cases from a catchment of about 500,000, with no non-university surgical practice.
- Junior residents start working in the operating room within their first weeks of training.
- Agreement with Montréal and Laval for subspecialty rotations in pediatric ENT, neuro-otology and rhinology.
By year
- PGY-1
- PLASTIE8 SEMAINES
- CHIRURGIE VASCULAIRE8 SEMAINES
- NEUROCHIRURGIE8 SEMAINES
- SOINS INTENSIFS CHIRURGICAUX8 SEMAINES
- ORL8 SEMAINES
- CHIRURGIE GÉNÉRALE4 SEMAINES
- INFECTIOLOGIE4 SEMAINES
- MÉTHODOLOGIE DE LA RECHERCHE4 SEMAINES
- PGY-2
- ORL40 SEMAINES
- DERMATOLOGIE-MOHS4 SEMAINES
- ANESTHÉSIE4 SEMAINES
- CHIRURGIE MAXILLO-FACIALE4 SEMAINES
Other rotations
- RADIOLOGIE ORL (R-3 À R-5 · 4 SEMAINES · CHUS - FLEURIMONT)
- RADIO-ONCOLOGIE (R-3 À R-5 · 4 SEMAINES · CHUS - FLEURIMONT)
- NEURO-OTOLOGIE (R-3 À R-5 · 8 SEMAINES · CHUM / CHU DE QUÉBEC-UNIVERSITÉ LAVAL)
- DISSECTION CADAVÉRIQUE ORL (R-3 À R-5 · 4 SEMAINES · UQTR)
- IMPLANTS COCHLÉAIRES (R-3 À R-5 · 4 SEMAINES · CHU DE QUÉBEC-UNIVERSITÉ LAVAL)
- NEURO-OTOLOGIE (R-3 À R-5 · 4 SEMAINES · CHUS - HÔTEL-DIEU)
- LARYNGOLOGIE (R-3 À R-5 · 4 SEMAINES · CHUS - HÔTEL-DIEU)
- RHINOSINUSOLOGIE ET IMMUNO-ALLERGOLOGIE (R-3 À R-5 · 4 SEMAINES · CHUS)
- PÉDIATRIE (R-3 À R-5 · 8 SEMAINES · CHU SAINTE-JUSTINE)
- RECHERCHE (R-3 À R-5 · 8 À 24 SEMAINES · CHUS)
- OPTION (R-3 À R-5 · 4 à 8 SEMAINES · VARIABLE)
- ORL (R-3 À R-5 · 88 À 104 SEMAINES · CHUS)
- SINUS/BASE DU CRÂNE (R-3 À R-5 · 8 SEMAINES · CHU DE QUÉBEC-UNIVERSITÉ LAVAL)
- PATHOLOGIE ORL (R-3 À R-5 · 4 SEMAINES · CHUS - HÔTEL-DIEU)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu (Sherbrooke)
- CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
- Hôpital Ste-Croix de Drummondville (Drummondville · rural or distributed site)
- CHUM (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- CHU de Québec-Université Laval (Québec)
- Hôpital de Gaspé (Gaspé · rural or distributed site)
- Hôpital de Gatineau (Gatineau · rural or distributed site)
- UQTR
- CLINIQUE DE CHIRURGIE MAXILLO-FACIALE ET D'IMPLANTOLOGIE DE L'ESTRIE
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
- Licensed beds
- physical health 216 · psychiatry 105
CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
- Licensed beds
- physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20
Hôpital Ste-Croix de Drummondville
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 17,461 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 154 · psychiatry 25 · geriatrics 18 · neonatology 4
Show facts for 5 more sitesShow fewer
CHUM
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
CHU de Québec-Université Laval
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Hôpital de Gaspé
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 5,669 · 2026–2027: 5,833
- Licensed beds
- physical health 51 · psychiatry 7 · geriatrics 5
Hôpital de Gatineau
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,018 · 2026–2027: 15,386
- Licensed beds
- physical health 121 · psychiatry 40 · neonatology 37
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) Simon Brisebois
Directeur du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Sherbrooke, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.5 °C
- July average
- 19.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 290.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.1 days a year
People
- Population
- 172,950 people
- Official languages
- English only 1.7% · French only 51.6% · English and French 46.1% · neither 0.7%
- Immigrants
- 8.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 87.3% · public transit 4.9% · walking or cycling 6.4% · other 1.4%
- Median household income
- $62,400 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sherbrooke, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.156
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $47,414 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage