St. John's - Anesthesiology
Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, Newfoundland and LabradorCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36185
Summary
- Memorial University offers a five-year anesthesia residency structured on the Royal College Competency by Design model.
- Metro training sites include the Health Sciences Centre, Janeway Children's and Women’s Health Centre and St. Clare's Mercy Hospital, with regional sites in Newfoundland, New Brunswick and PEI.
- Residents complete research projects begun in first year, with dedicated research time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre
- Janeway Children's and Women’s Health Centre
- St. Clare's Mercy Hospital
Show all 10Show fewer
- Carbonear General Hospital
- Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre
- James Paton Memorial Hospital
- Western Memorial Regional Hospital
- Dr. Everett Chalmers Regional Hospital
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- PEI Regional Hospitals
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Weekly 'ABC Rounds' (Airway, Breathing, Coffee) for small-group case discussion.
- Annual fall wellness retreat held at venues across Newfoundland and Labrador.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · CMGs only
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $69,175 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,779 / year |
| PGY-3 | $79,848 / year |
| PGY-4 | $85,137 / year |
| PGY-5 | $90,868 / year |
Benefits
- Additional optional benefits
- 100% employee paid
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/year
- CMPA dues
- 100% reimbursement
- Conference leave
- 7 days/pd
- Extended health insurance
- Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
- Frequency of call
- Excess in-hospital call > 7/28 weekday – $225, weekend – $360;Call stipend – $115 Home call > 7/21 – $75;Call stipend – $57.50
- Maternity/Paternity leave
- Up to One year
- Meal allowance
- $105 per month
- Parking fees
- $5/year
- Provincial health insurance
- Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
- Resident Student
- Full-time status
- Sick leave
- 1 day per month
- Statutory holidays
- 1-1/2 x pay or paid day off
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences Centre (St. John's)
- Janeway Children's and Women’s Health Centre (St. John's)
- St. Clare's Mercy Hospital (St. John's)
- Carbonear General Hospital (Carbonear · rural or distributed site)
- Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre (Grand Falls-Windsor · rural or distributed site)
- James Paton Memorial Hospital (Gander · rural or distributed site)
- Western Memorial Regional Hospital (Corner Brook · rural or distributed site)
- Dr. Everett Chalmers Regional Hospital (Fredericton · rural or distributed site)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
- PEI Regional Hospitals (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Dr. Everett Chalmers Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 314
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
For the other sites: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Sonia Sampson
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.6 °C
- July average
- 16.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 363.4 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.3 days a year
People
- Population
- 110,525 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.3% · French only 0.0% · English and French 9.2% · neither 0.5%
- Immigrants
- 7.0% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 84.4% · public transit 5.4% · walking or cycling 7.2% · other 3.0%
- Median household income
- $75,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- St. John's, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.247
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $53,849 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage