Sussex - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine
Dalhousie UniversitySussex, New BrunswickCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 2 positions
- 3 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine
- 401–600
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 30204
Summary
The Dalhousie Family Medicine Integrated Emergency Medicine (iFMEM) program is an innovative three-year training pathway that combines comprehensive family medicine with enhanced emergency medicine skills. Located in Saint John and Sussex, New Brunswick, this program prepares family physicians to provide comprehensive patient care and leadership in emergency settings, particularly in rural and community contexts.
Training
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time for research activities, emphasizing evidence-based medicine and critical review of medical literature.
- Training setting
- A distributed training environment spanning urban and rural settings in New Brunswick, including Saint John Regional Hospital, Sussex Health Centre, and Miramichi Regional Hospital, with a strong emphasis on community-based medical practice.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, longitudinal skill development, and integration of family medicine and emergency medicine competencies across three years of training.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Community hospital
- Rural clinic
- Tertiary care center
- Focus areas
- Family Medicine
- Emergency Medicine
- Rural Medicine
- Community Healthcare
- Comprehensive Patient Care
- Patient populations
- Rural community patients
- Urban hospital patients
- Emergency department patients
- Comprehensive family medicine patient panel
- Geriatric patients
- Pediatric patients
- Highlights
- First integrated Family Medicine Emergency Medicine program in Canada
- Longitudinal learning model
- Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) training
- Mandatory Family Medicine Resident Education Symposium
- Scholarly project requirement
- Ten weeks of electives in PGY2
- Advanced certification preparation (CCFP and CCFP-EM)
- Strengths
- Comprehensive training in family and emergency medicine
- Strong rural medicine focus
- Diverse clinical experiences
- Supportive learning environment
- Excellent research infrastructure
- Longitudinal patient care opportunities
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Point of Care Ultrasound
- Care of the Elderly
- Palliative Care
By year
- PGY-1
- Community Family Medicine10 weeks
- Core Family Medicine8 weeks
- Intro to Family Medicine4 weeks
- Intro to Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- General Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Gynecology4 weeks
- Geriatric Medicine4 weeks
- Palliative Care4 weeks
- Orthopaedics4 weeks
- Pediatrics4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
- Anaesthesia2 weeks
- PGY-2
- Core Family Medicine16 weeks
- Community Family Medicine12 weeks
- Reproductive Health4 weeks
- General Medicine4 weeks
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Elective(s)4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
- Surgery2 weeks
- Surgical Clinics2 weeks
- PGY-3
- Emergency Medicine16 weeks
- Core Family Medicine8 weeks
- Community Family Medicine8 weeks
- Intensive Care Unit4 weeks
- Cardiac Care Unit4 weeks
- Critical Care Selective4 weeks
- Trauma Selective4 weeks
- Selective(s)4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
Selection
- What the program looks at
- FMProC assessment
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Interview performance
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 13, 24 and 27 Nov 2025; 10 and 26 Jan 2026; 6 Feb 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- Sussex Health Centre
- Miramichi Regional Hospital
- St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Sussex Health Centre
- Inpatient beds
- 25
Miramichi Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 150
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre
- Inpatient beds
- 103
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
More links
- Dalhousie Family Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- Dalhousie Faculty of Medicine Postgraduate Program(opens in a new tab)
- Maritime Resident Doctors(opens in a new tab)
- Residency at Dalhousie Family Medicine (Video)(opens in a new tab)
- Saint John (Integrated Family Medicine and Emergency Medicine) (video)(opens in a new tab)
Location
Sussex, New Brunswick
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.9 °C
- July average
- 19.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 247.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.3 days a year
People
- Population
- 4,440 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.6% · French only not reported · English and French 13.0% · neither 0.3%
- Immigrants
- 4.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.1% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 86.4% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 11.1% · other 2.8%
- Median household income
- $54,800 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sussex, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.319
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $50,975 a year