Sussex - Saint John - Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine
Dalhousie UniversitySussex, New BrunswickCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 3 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine integrated Emergency Medicine
- 401–600
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35385
Summary
- This three-year program integrates the two-year Family Medicine curriculum with the one-year Enhanced Skills in Emergency Medicine program.
- The home site is Sussex, New Brunswick, with additional rotations in Saint John.
- Residents spend 6 months in the Saint John Regional Hospital Emergency Department and become independent POCUS practitioners in second year.
- A scholarly project is required, with protected time.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Sussex Health Centre
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre
- Charlotte County Hospital
- IWK Health Centre
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- POCUS curriculum
- Rural / remote
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Integrated FM-EM program developed in 2010, described as the first of its kind in Canada.
- Includes preparation for both the CCFP and CCFP (EM) exams within one integrated three-year program.
- Weekly emergency department shifts continue throughout core family medicine rotations over all three years.
By year
- PGY-1
- Community Family Medicine10 weeks
- Core Family Medicine8 weeks
- Intro to Family Medicine4 weeks
- Intro to Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- General Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Gynecology4 weeks
- Geriatric Medicine4 weeks
- Palliative Care4 weeks
- Orthopedics4 weeks
- Pediatrics4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
- Anesthesia2 weeks
- PGY-2
- Core Family Medicine16 weeks
- Community Family Medicine12 weeks
- Reproductive Health4 weeks
- General Medicine4 weeks
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Elective(s)4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
- Surgical Skills2 weeks
- PGY-3
- Emergency Medicine16 weeks
- Core Family Medicine8 weeks
- Community Family Medicine8 weeks
- Intensive Care Unit4 weeks
- Cardiac Care Unit4 weeks
- Critical Care Selectives4 weeks
- Trauma Selective4 weeks
- Elective(s)4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 20267:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 2 Dec 20267:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Wed 2 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Sat 9 Jan 202712:00–2:00 pm AST
Social · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Sat 9 Jan 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Sussex Health Centre (Sussex)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (Saint John)
- St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre (Saint John)
- Charlotte County Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Sussex Health Centre
- Inpatient beds
- 25
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
St. Joseph's Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 103
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
St. Joseph's Urgent Care Centre
- Inpatient beds
- 103
Charlotte County Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 44
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program Information
Program director
Dr. Sasha Sealy
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
FMEM Saint John / Sussex
Dr. Robin Clouston
Site Director
Dr. Kendra Gilmore
Assistant Site Director
Andrea Leclair
Site Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Dalhousie Family Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- Dalhousie Faculty of Medicine Postgraduate Program(opens in a new tab)
- Maritime Resident Doctors(opens in a new tab)
- Residency at Dalhousie Family Medicine (Video)(opens in a new tab)
- Saint John (Integrated Family Medicine and Emergency Medicine) (video)(opens in a new tab)
Location
Sussex, New Brunswick
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.9 °C
- July average
- 19.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 247.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.3 days a year
People
- Population
- 4,440 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.6% · French only not reported · English and French 13.0% · neither 0.3%
- Immigrants
- 4.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.1% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 86.4% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 11.1% · other 2.8%
- Median household income
- $54,800 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sussex, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.319
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $50,975 a year