Vancouver - Hematological Pathology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 4 years
- CMG
- Hematological Pathology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35261
Summary
- UBC Hematological Pathology is a four-year Royal College–accredited program with one position per year, covering morphology, flow cytometry, molecular diagnostics, coagulation, bone marrow procurement and transfusion medicine.
- All mandatory rotations take place in Metro Vancouver, including LifeLabs and Canadian Blood Services, with electives available across BC.
- Residents have dedicated research blocks, must present a research or QI project at UBC Pathology Day, and take home call one week at a time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul’s Hospital
- BC Children’s & Women’s Hospital
Show all 8Show fewer
- BC Cancer
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Canadian Blood Services
- LifeLabs Burnaby Reference Laboratory
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Highlights
- Hematopathologists in BC still procure bone marrow biopsies, giving residents hands-on procurement experience.
- Most Vancouver training sites are within about 5 km of each other.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- clinical rotations in Adult and Pediatric Hematology (Foundations of Discipline · approximately 2-3 blocks)
- Laboratory Hematology rotations (Core of Discipline · the four hospital sites)
- Clinical Hematology or Cellular therapy (stem cell transplant) (Core of Discipline · up to 4 further blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Children’s & Women’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Cancer (Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Canadian Blood Services (Vancouver)
- LifeLabs Burnaby Reference Laboratory (Burnaby)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
BC Children’s & Women’s Hospital
BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre (Vancouver)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Krista Marcon
Faculty profile of Dr. Krista Marcon(opens in a new tab)
Blood research; Quality Improvement and Assurance, Utilization Management
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage